What Is The Difference Between A Misdemeanor and A Felony In Kentucky?
- A misdemeanor is a crime punishable by up to 12 months in a county or local jail. Misdemeanors are designated as Class A or Class B (less serious).
- Felonies are more serious and are punishable by state prison terms of one year or more. They are usually categorized as Class A, B, C, or D felonies.
What Does KY Consider A Felony Drug Charge?
For drug charges, the crime and penalty will depend on the type and amount of controlled substance involved in the violation and the conduct of the accused.
For example, Trafficking in the 1st and 2nd degree is considered a felony. Possession in the 1st degree is also a felony.
When Would A DUI Charge Become A Felony Under KY State Law?
Usually, a DUI becomes a felony if someone has 4 or more offenses within a 10 year period.
What Are The Penalties If I Am Convicted Of A Felony DUI In KY?
A person can face a fine of between $1,000 and $10,000 and/or imprisonment for 1-5 years. If aggravating circumstances are present the penalties can be more severe.
What Are The Different Degrees Of Assault Charges In KY? How Serious Must The Injury Be To Be A Felony Level Charge?
Kentucky has 4 assault crimes:
- 1st – Class B felony
- 2nd – Class C felony
- 3rd – Class D felony
- 4th – Misdemeanor
1st – intentional infliction of a serious physical injury by using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument or if a person acting wantonly in a way that creates grave risk of death.
“Serious physical injury” is substantial physical pain or impairment of physical condition; prolonged disfigurement, impairment of health, or loss of function of any bodily organ.
2nd – intentionally causing serious physical injury; intentionally causing physical injury but by using a deadly weapon or dangerous instrument or wantonly causing serious physical injury using deadly weapon or dangerous instrument.
3rd – intentionally injure or attempt to injure certain class of victims (peace officer, social worker, parole officer, school personnel, etc.) or if a person acts recklessly while using deadly weapon or dangerous instrument
4th – physical injury (intentionally, wantonly, or recklessly)
What Is The Penalty For 3rd Degree Assault?
It’s a Class D felony – 1-5 years
For more information on Misdemeanors vs. Felonies In Kentucky, For A Consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (859) 342-4500 today.