How Is A DUI/DWI Defined In Kentucky?
- DUI – Driving Under the Influence
- DWI – Driving While Intoxicated
Both address driving under the influence of alcohol, or any substance that may impair driving ability. This can include prescription drugs as well. 0.08 is the legal limit for a Breathalyzer but DWI can be different depending on the substances involved.
What Are The Penalties For A First Time DUI/DWI, 2nd, 3rd, etc.?
- 1st Offense – 48 hours to 30 days jail time, $200-$500 fine
- 2nd Offense – 7 days to 6months jail time, $350-$500 fine
- 3rd Offense – 30 days to 12 months jail time, $500-$1,000 fine
- 4th Offense + – 1 year-5 years jail time; a felony
Treatment and classes, community service, and license suspension are all also possible.
If aggravator present, increase certain jail time penalties. Aggravators include excessive speeding, passengers under the age of 12 years, alcohol test refusal, BAC of 0.15% or greater, injury accident, etc.
For more information on DUI/DWI Cases In The State Of Kentucky, For A Consultation is your next best step. Get the information and legal answers you are seeking by calling (859) 342-4500 today.